Home » Bottoms » Winter Pants for the Cold

Winter Pants for the Cold

And cold it has been here in Texas! We normally don’t get below freezing until February and we have had two weekends of cold weather now and it doesn’t look like it will stop. Fortunately I had made and finished a pair of double-knit palazzo pants before the cold snap hit. I was hoping these pants would be warm, but unsure how warm they would be. They are warm! Almost too much in fact.

TwirlDesigns_Palazzo.jpg

We went up to Fredericksburg, TX for the afternoon to stock up on wine from the Fredericksburg Winery. It’s family run and has quickly become our favorite out of the local wineries. Fredericksburg is really big on Christmas and they have a very large German population, so they have some great events going on right now. It allowed me to get some neat pictures if nothing else! If you are anywhere close to Fredericksburg , I recommend you check it out.

I made these pants using New Look Pattern 6735. I used it previously to make this skirt. I love how wide these end up being, however the fit in the crotch is not good. If I make it again I will have to make some adjustments to the pattern piece to make it work better for me.  My only other change was the usual wedge of fabric I have to take out by my hips.  I serged the elastic to the waistband and then flipped it and sewed it down to secure it. I use the lightning bolt looking stitch to secure it. I could have used my coverstitch….but I was being lazy. I didn’t even use it to hem the bottom since serging them would secure them well enough. I also didn’t have a lot of spare fabric to allow me to fold up the hem allowance.

 wpid-IMG_20131130_153940183.jpg

I probably will not be making these again any time soon, since I have so many sewing patterns to choose from. I really need to work my way through more than a few of them. Up next is a hoodie that I am making out of fleece. I might make it reversible. It all depends on how I feel about it once I start sewing it up. I still have to cut out the lining and see if I even have a zipper in my stash. I’m not sure what else to tell you about the pattern, so I will leave you with one more picture.

wpid-IMG_20131130_154038999.jpg

I’ve joined Instagram and Twitter! Come follow me!

Leave a Reply

