Home » dress » The Dress that Wasn’t

The Dress that Wasn’t

Or Lekala 5897. I’ve been wanting to sew something with leather for a while and the concept has been a challenging one to make myself approach. I have completed small projects with leather, but never an item of clothing. My husband’s interest in a lightweight leather jacket was enough of a push to see if I could make it work. I decided to play with the leather on a much smaller scale before deciding to jump straight into making a jacket. That is where Lekala 5897 comes in. I felt that a dress with leather as a small design feature would be a great way to start. A yoked dress seemed perfect! And in theory it is, however the pattern needs some much-needed tweaking before I show you a finished dress on me.

twirldesigns lekala-3

The fit issues:

  • The shoulders should be much narrower for me. At least an inch needs to come off the yoke.
  • The contour darts need adjusting. The bust fits great, but the waist area needs some more definition so that I am not wearing a tent.
  • I think the waist needs to be dropped down about two inches if not more. Maybe I have a bit more of a long torso than I thought? I say that because the widest portion of the hips is hitting me above my widest portion.

twirldesigns lekala-2

The leather was a delight to work with! I chose to bind the edges instead of creating a lining. Making my own bias binding was fun and much easier than expected! The main things I did to make sewing the leather easier was to use a leather needle, my walking foot, and a long stitch length. For more in-depth tips check out my post on The Monthly Stitch. The challenge for this month was New Year=New Skill. I was determined to be able to post this make in time! This is by no means a finished make and it may never be. I consider it a muslin and one pattern from my stash used! Yeah!!!!

twirldesigns lekala-

What unfinished project do you have lying around that has taught you something?

 

2 thoughts on “The Dress that Wasn’t

    • I got the lambskin I used in this project at my local Tandy. They have an online site as well, but they don’t include as many details as I would like about the leather. I recently ordered from Waterhouse Leather and the skins were excellent!

Leave a Reply

