Home » Sewing » Pattern Stashbusting at your Mercy!

Pattern Stashbusting at your Mercy!

I’m at your mercy for the month of March. It has been decreed that The Monthly Stitch Challenge for March will be pattern stashbusting with a twist.

I get to use a pattern that is in my stash to make anything I want from it….but the twist is where you come in. The pattern I use is picked by you out of a selection that I choose. I have three contenders and many more fabric choices. I may or may not stick to any of the fabric choices I show you. It all depends on timing and mood!

My three patterns are all fairly simple and the reason for that is that I may be limited on how much I can sew for the next two to three weeks. I’ll tell you more about why later. In no particular order:

M6842

M6842

McCalls 6842. I currently have a skirt that I bought at a thrift store that is the same style as this pattern. I LOVE that skirt! It is short, flirty and above all comfortable! The fabrics I have selected for it are:

twirldesigns fabric McCalls

1 and 2 are both houndstooth print ponte knits and would be used together. 1 is really stiff even after washing! If I used 2 I would make the entire skirt out of it. It is a swimsuit lycra that I picked up on a whim.

The second option is Kwik Sew 3778:

K3778

View A of course!

I’ve had this pattern for a while and haven’t messed with it mostly because I do not like the stiff paper Kwik Sew prints on. I trace my patterns now, but I still dislike handling them. (I know I’m weird)

The fabrics I have set aside for this one are:

twirldesigns fabric kwik sew

1 is a sweater knit that will be good for fall and late spring. 2 is an ITY knit that I originally bought to make a top out of. 3 is a knit from Joanns that I have been eying for several months. It has tiny shiny stars all over it and it’s grey!

The last option is Simplicity 1589:

I would turn view A into a dress

And the fabric:

twirldesigns fabric kwik sew--2

1 is a purple polyester that has a nice drape and is easy to work with. 2 is a satin that is slippery, but I love the color! 3 is a border print charmuese I just bought from Denver Fabrics. 4 is a silk that I am afraid to mess up. 5 feels like it is silk but it is actually a high quality polyester.

Lots of choices for me and some for you! So tell me which pattern you would like to see?

*If I don’t get to this in March it will be the first item I make once I have time to sew.

20 thoughts on “Pattern Stashbusting at your Mercy!

  1. I love the flirty skirt! It looks like I’m not alone. I used to have a similar style and I felt so confident and received many compliments. Besides, can anyone have too many flirty skirts?

  2. Was a hard call between the simplicty and the quick sew but ultimately I really love that back cut out. Not sure if you’ve voted yet, but my poll is up on my blog as well, feel free to drop by!

  3. It was a hard call between the simplicity and the quick sew but ultimately I love the cut out on the back. Not sure if you’ve voted or not but my poll is up on the blog, feel free to drop by!

  4. Ahh! Hard to choose but I am a total KwikSew fangurl (the first pattern I ever made without my mom supervising as a KwikSew and I think that dress would be amazingly cute for summer! It’s cold but sunny here, and it has me dreaming of warmer days to come.

Leave a comment